History of McGeoch
William McGeoch established his company of brass founders in Glasgow in 1832.
The range already encompassed a wide choice of domestic and marine electrical fittings from ‘artistic’ statuettes (below left) holding lamps – as used on the RMS Olympic, RMS Titanic and HMHS Brittanic – to watertight navigation lights (above right).
Later catalogues contained further additions to the McGeoch range including marine switchboards on slate panels with open switches and the main manufacturing plant in Birmingham featured more prominently with custom built design offices incorporated.
‘RMS Lusitania’ (bottom right) was a British ocean liner and briefly the world’s largest passenger ship. The Cunard Line launched the ship in June 1906 at a time of fierce competition for the North Atlantic trade. She was built by John Brown & Co in Clydebank and many of her electrical fittings and lighting were supplied by William McGeoch & Co. Her sister ship, the ‘RMS Mauretania’, was launched a few months later and also benefitted from McGeoch electrical equipment and lighting.
In 1999 William White Switchgear was acquired by McGeoch Technology bringing with it current experience of designing and manufacturing power distribution and control and instrumentation panels for warships.